Big plans, changes underway

Obligatory statement that I have been terrible at updates here. Excuse for such behavior: school. Declaration that things will change very shortly! As proof of how serious I am, I offer up the news that I have officially purchased my own domain, which I’m hoping to have live and functional by the end of the summer. Not only is it an excuse to teach myself web design and coding, but it will light a fire under my ass to get at least one post up a week here.

I’ve always viewed writing as the kind of field that thrives on multiplicity–multiple presences, multiple forms, a broad range of knowledge, an unquenchable thirst for information, and an ability to multitask. As I work on revising the works I revisited during the last year of school, I also hope to offer a constant, current version of myself online. I’m hoping this will include humorous content from my day via text/IM conversation and Twitter (as I am interested in text as being visually funny), nonfiction essays/columns about issues within writing (among other things–bringing the column back, for those of you who remember me at the Daily Illini several years ago), and experimental digital work.

There are many people I know who would argue with me that success as a writer is almost solely contingent upon the quality of your written work. I believe this is true only to a certain extent. The internet is all at a once a tool, an environment, a medium, a database, an archive, a community, and much, much more. It seems a waste to ignore its possibilities entirely in one’s written endeavors. Narrative is inextricably linked to an elemental humanity, and in order for my own work to grow and thrive, it’s absolutely necessary for me to engage with other human beings in a variety of ways and to give them a certain amount of access to me, too. As someone who also believes in the ability of writing to genuinely make a difference in the lives of others, I want to encourage and engage in conversations with people about the state of writing, publishing, reading/experiencing, and everything in between. Long story short, I believe it’s crucial–professionally, personally–to manifest a strong web presence through dynamic (and consistent) content.

All that in mind, here’s the scoop: I’m going to transition all my stuff onto this beautiful new website I’ve begun working on. And the time has finally come for me to combine both my online portfolio (what is currently posted on Drawing Coffee) and my personal blog (this site, What the Fidd). I had chosen to keep them separate for some time for general professional/privacy reasons, but I’ve come to terms with the fact that two blog-format websites is a cumbersome set-up. And, you know, at some point I have to just be fine with my personality being attached to the work I create. I do want my work to speak for itself, but I also recognize that a little personal context never hurt anybody, and I believe it’s important to put them together to render a complete portrait of my philosophy of writing and my continuous development as an artist.

Also, who gives two shits about my opinion on writing, etc., if no one knows what I do, am I right? Not that that guarantees that anyone gives two shits about my opinion on anything anyway. But thanks to this magical land we call the Interwebs, everyone still gets to hear about it!

Updates regarding new work will be announced on my Twitter, which you can check out in the sidebar or subscribe to (I’m a firm believer than Twitter found its calling with the rise of smart phones). I’ll also be posting my new professional resume in several places once I get it finished, and I’m moving all of my personal library catalog from aNobii to Goodreads for the sake of functionality. Finally, I’ll also take this opportunity to make a brief announcement that I will soon be accepting work commission-style–currently that means writing consultation (info/feedback/editing on your manuscripts, essays, copy, and more). I reserve the right to refuse commissions (like if you’re sending me plagiarized stuff, or asking me to write your term paper for you), and my availability is subject to change, depending upon my in-person employment schedule. More on that in the near future.

Whew! I think that’s all for now. Okay, see you guys in another four months j/k

About Chelsea
I'm currently pursuing my MFA in Writing at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. My ideal career path involves using writing, publication, and writing education to enact progressive social change.

Leave a Reply

