Ugly and delicious scrambled eggs

The title says it all–these guys turn out a crazy color combo, but they taste amazing (and would be perfect for egg sandwiches). I just sent this recipe to a friend, so I thought I should probably share with the rest of the class. This is verbatim, so forgive me (or totally love me) for playing it fast and loose with formatting, POV, tense, profanity, blah blah blah.


Awesome (and Ugly) Scrambled Eggs with Veggies

  • 2 – 3 eggs
  • Clove(s) of garlic (I use one for 2 eggs, 1 + a small one for 3), minced
  • Ground cumin
  • Turmeric
  • Red chili powder
  • Kosher/sea salt (tastes better in my opinion)
  • Half of a small red/orange bell pepper, diced
  • Generous handful of chopped spinach (adult spinach, not that baby spinach shit. GROWN-ASS SPINACH)
  • Oil/butter/vegan butter/whatever
  1. Put a somewhat generous amount of oil/butter/vegan butter in your pan (I use vegan butter, not because I am vegan but because it is tasty and I like buttery eggs) and turn your stove to med-high. Melt and swirl until the bottom of your pan is coated. Throw in your minced garlic and sautee for about 30-45 seconds, until fragrant.
  2. This next part is specific to me, it’s just how I scramble eggs. I don’t like to add salt/seasonings into my eggs after cracking them into a bowl and beating them because the salt can dry the eggs out at that point. You can do this however you like, but here’s how I do it: turn the heat down to medium and take your pan off the burner. Crack your eggs into the pan, and season as desired–I add a very, very light amount of salt, and then generous amounts of cumin, turmeric, and chili powder. Using a spatula or your utensil of choice, break the egg yolks and stir everything around in the pan. Put the pan back on the heat.
  3. Cook the eggs until they’re starting to solidify at the edges of the pan. Cut ’em up with your spatula and flip ’em around, you don’t need to be precise. They’ll still be gooey. Add your bell pepper and mix everything around.
  4. Wait until the eggs are almost entirely set before adding the spinach so as not to overcook it. Cook the eggs the remainder of the way, as long as you like–still slightly moist or scrambled hard, until they’ve got some brown spots and are more dry.
  5. Throw ’em on a plate and eat ’em!
About Chelsea
I'm currently pursuing my MFA in Writing at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. My ideal career path involves using writing, publication, and writing education to enact progressive social change.

One Response to Ugly and delicious scrambled eggs

  1. Kevin says:

    Om nom nom

Leave a Reply

