Fingertoes, update the second

For those of you who were mildly interested to read about my exploits wearing Vibram FiveFingers, you may be mildly interested in this.

At the same time that I want to be able to use these as strictly athletic shoes, I’ve been wearing my KSOs solid for over a week so that my foot muscles will have the opportunity to adjust. I’m trying to alter my step while I walk to more easily facilitate the change while I run, although I still have to actively think about how I’m stepping during both (after all, a week of walking differently isn’t going to erase the near-23-years of muscle memory from walking in mainstream shoes–or “foot coffins,” as my dental hygienist told me her FiveFingers-wearing running partner calls them). My feet were still pretty sore last week (despite wearing them off and on the week or so prior), but everything’s been smooth sailing (or stepping?) so far this week. For a better idea on how I’m trying to change my steps, check out the video on this NPR story.

With all this stepping on my mind, I went running for 20 minutes tonight (still working my way back up from my ankle injury, plus getting used to new shoes, so I’m taking it easy) successfully–no ankle pain, no extreme calf muscle tightness, no soreness in the top of my foot. Progress is slow, but sure. If things continue this well, then I’m considering procuring an extra pair of these babies for every-day wear so that my KSOs can remain strictly for their intended athletic use, and I can still wander around in comfy shoes all day that aren’t counterproductive to my running step.

I hope that was minimally interesting, enough so that you’re mildly intrigued for further updates on the subject in the near future.

About Chelsea
I'm currently pursuing my MFA in Writing at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. My ideal career path involves using writing, publication, and writing education to enact progressive social change.

One Response to Fingertoes, update the second

  1. Pingback: Foot Problems 101

Leave a Reply

