Fingertoes

Well, it’s been a little over a week since I started wearing my FiveFingers. I’ve been trying to wear them in low-intensity situations (namely work at the flower shop) so that my feet can adjust. It’s not a question of blisters, since these are amazingly form-fitting shoes, I just need to give my foot muscles a break since they’re getting used more than they are in  my other shoes. I have tried running a few times in them, which demands a lot from your calves (since I’m shifting to running on the front of my foot).

Overall, I feel as though I’m walking around in my socks or slippers at home. And it’s spectacular to feel the shape of the ground underneath you, the plushness of the grass, without the awkward pain of taking steps on sticks, stones, and various fallen tree bits. I’ve drawn a lot of attention and questions from people while I’m out making deliveries during the day, and as our senior designer said, “They look comfortable, but you’re definitely not going to win a beauty contest in ’em.”

As I said, I’m only one week in–I’ll be back with more information on them and running (no ankle pain, finally) over the next couple of weeks as I adjust.

About Chelsea
I'm currently pursuing my MFA in Writing at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. My ideal career path involves using writing, publication, and writing education to enact progressive social change.

Leave a Reply

