All I talk about is food

Watched the World Cup final today–despite so many more knowledgeable folks talking about how ugly and poorly-played a game it was, the tension was almost unbearable and made it riveting, at least for me, to watch. Congrats Spain, Holland, and Germany, although I would have liked to see Uruguay win the consolation match on Saturday.

Rewind a little to Friday. I drove to St. Louis after getting off work, and Suraj and I got Persian food at Cafe Natasha on Grand. Wonderful food, and I think  I would have been happy with anything I considered ordering–there was a lot to choose from. I ended up getting the shami platter with lentil and raisin rice, which was a fantastic combination that was tied together bythe tanginess of the dill-cucumber yogurt sauce (similar, to me, to tzatziki, although this was thinner). Their Persian ice cream was delightful (and a massive portion, a whole sundae glass) as well, flavored with pistachios, saffron, and rose water. Veg-friendly, and I think some dishes can be prepared vegan upon request.

On our way to an office get-together Saturday, we stumbled upon a Korean bakery over in Chesterfield. We picked up a few things, including a red-bean-paste-filled pastry with walnuts, a soft “baguette” made with sweetened condensed milk, raisins, and walnuts, and some almond cookies.

Hopefully more to come this week as I refine my plans for Chicago this weekend (PAVEMENT PAVEMENT PAVEMENT). I need to talk about more than just the food I eat.

About Chelsea
I'm currently pursuing my MFA in Writing at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. My ideal career path involves using writing, publication, and writing education to enact progressive social change.

Leave a Reply

