Flours

I worked at the flower shop Thursday and Friday last week and have worked there Tuesday and today; I’ll be there through the remainder of the next two and a half weeks, more than likely. I’ve been learning to do the jobs of two people in about four days since they are both going on vacation. I’ll be taking customers and phone orders as well as maintaining flowers and plants in the store, making deliveries, and doing other in-store business–making cards, working with ribbon, wrapping and foiling things…the list goes on and on. Both days last week I was in from 10a – 5p. This week it’s been 11a – 5p, but since I’ll be taking over deliveries completely starting tomorrow, I’ll be in from 9a – 3p (hopefully, though it may be later depending upon the number of orders we get). Hopefully this explains the lack of updates, but to make up for it, I’m anticipating having some stories/thoughtful posts regarding things that have happened so far.

In the meantime, I’d also like to get back to working on a piece I am writing about origami lotuses. I also taught myself how to make cranes this week and re-learned butterflies. I bought a 300 pack of tiny origami sheets this weekend while I was in St. Louis and have been using it to assemble an army of tiny cranes to go with my tiny lotuses.

That is a lily in the back left there, it was hard as fuck to make

I tested my ankle again yesterday at the gym by biking for twenty-five minutes and doing a couple of sets of calf raises. It was a little irritated when I got home but was fine today at work, so it seems like things are getting better. I can’t wait to get back to running.

Lastly, remember that thing I said about sending me pictures? SEND ME SOME ALREADY.

About Chelsea
I'm currently pursuing my MFA in Writing at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. My ideal career path involves using writing, publication, and writing education to enact progressive social change.

Leave a Reply

