One of those moments you have

I worked out on a cross-trainer Monday (the last of my cardio before ankle-healing regimen), which, at the gym I go to, has a TV on the front. I don’t really like to watch TV while I work out because I’ll end up laughing at something (which either throws my breathing off or looks really crazy to the people around me), or there will be nothing worth watching on (when is there ever?). Instead, on this particular day, I was spending my time listening all the way through an album I recently acquired–the kind of listening I used to do when I was a kid and didn’t get new CDs very often, when I would rip the shrink wrap off in the car so I could start thumbing through the CD booklet before taking off into the house, shutting myself in my room, and listening through the album three or four times while trying to memorize the lyrics and decide which songs I liked best.

So I’m listening to OK Go’s Of the Blue Colour of the Sky and checking my heart rate and looking around. To the left of me, someone had left the television on atop the now-unoccupied cross-trainer. My eyes unfortunately kept being drawn back to the screen by interview portions of a television show featuring young women wearing too much make-up and looking as though the show revolved around them generally making asses of themselves. Near the end of my time on the cross-trainer (and I guess the beginning of a second episode of this shit, oh joy), I noticed that the opening of this particular episode of the show involves the apparently oldest daughter (who looks conversely youthful–her actual age, pressumably–and wrinkled in the way that screams “I fake-bake too religiously”) toweling off after her shower, her mom telling her how hot she looks and calling her sisters in to  look at her, and then her mother taking posed naked photos of her oldest daughter.

What the fuck? And it only gets more fucked up if you read what the show is actually about.

About Chelsea
I'm currently pursuing my MFA in Writing at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. My ideal career path involves using writing, publication, and writing education to enact progressive social change.

Leave a Reply

