Jingle jangle

I’ve been a little too quiet for a while. Still looking for work, still not finding anything. Still trying to write things, still not coming up with much.

In recent news:

  • I had a huge crack develop in my windshield a couple of weeks ago and had my windshield replaced at no cost to me last week. Thanks, State Farm.
  • Got my last baby tooth pulled (more like pushed) out at the dentist two weeks ago (some of you may already know about this whole baby tooth story). Adult tooth seems to be growing in, but I’ll have a definitive opinion about it next week at my check-up.
  • I went to the midnight release of Final Fantasy XIII and am also probably not going to get to play it for a while.
  • Tried cooking with Match “meat” last weekend (“ground chicken”), which turned out pretty all right–it tastes good on its own, and it worked well with the dinner I made up (which Suraj wants to name “bhel curry”, since I used bhel poori chaat sauces and spices as a marinade + stir-fry sauce).
  • While searching for a non-meat protein to cook (I wanted to get tempeh), I wandered to a place in South County (St. Louis) that advertises itself as a “natural health food store” but turned out to be little more than a GNC with a fridge. Wouldn’t recommend it if you’re looking for a small, nearby alternative to Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s. My search continues.
  • Dear little birds and bugs: I can hear you!
  • Saw Rodrigo y Gabriela last night at the Pageant (my first time there). Great show, interesting venue, good company. Had pad soba for dinner (which is probably something I could make myself) at a Thai place across the street and a cocktail that was some kind of combination of a Thai coffee, a White Russian, and a Muay Thai. It tasted like a cherry Tootsie Roll Pop, I would advise against it.
  • Reading Censoring an Iranian Love Story by Shahriar Mandanipour. I’m really fascinated by the influence of Russian literature on Iranian lit and culture, though Iran has a rich and wealthy literary tradition of its own (that this book and many others explore). If you like metafiction, Iranian culture, or both, check it out.
  • Decided I wanted to try non-aluminum deodorant and decided on Crystal. I actually found it at Shop ‘n Save here (although I think Walgreens has it too) for much less than what it costs through their website, although I only had my choice of the crystal stick or the roll-on. I don’t  really want to have to shop through their website, but I’d like to get just the rock to eliminate packaging (although it comes with a little bag, and assumably that comes with every single one…so much extra shit I don’t need). Anyway, I was really excited about it (which sounds awfully stupid, but I am unemployed, so humor me) and wanted to try it out before I finish my remaining container of chemical deodorant. It is a weird experience to get a big rock wet and then rub it under your arms, but it worked great for me. Not for people who sweat a lot and care about sweating, though–it’s not an antiperspirant (which are classified by the FDA as drugs, which you’d know if you read the link), just a big ol’ rock to prevent odor-causing bacteria from springing up in your pits.
  • Read a really interesting piece in the most recent issue of the Economist that I can’t link you to because you’d have to have a subscription for that, but that I will try to link to later when it becomes available to the general public (to avoid sounding like a snob with a subscription, let me say that my dad gets the print edition, which is where I read it). It’s a well-written if not a bit redundant article on “gendercide” and son preference (I say redundant because “gendercide” and its fairly immediate implications are pretty well-documented, or at least widely discussed–bride trafficking, kidnapping, rape, and the like in areas surrounding places with a large disparity in female-male birth ratios) that explores the roles new prenatal technologies (like ultrasound), education, affluence, and declining fertility play in the issue.
  • New haircut.
  • It’s getting to be iced cafe au lait time.
  • Went to an exhibit on race at the Missouri History Museum a few weeks ago. As someone who discussed this in classes and in the context of my job, it was really interesting to come into the exhibit with the perspective of someone already aware and working to make others aware through education. I found the whole thing really great, and though we didn’t get to participate in the talking circle because it started three minutes after we got into the exhibit, I really appreciated that the museum not only works to provide its employees with dialogue facilitation skills but also encourages people in a small, private setting to open up and listen to each other on a topic that many people are terrified of discussing. An exhibit like this really needs to provide participants with a chance to both debrief and engage with the material they’ve been presented with. The exhibit primarily focuses on issues of race in America, and so deals largely with relationships between white, black, and Latino communities in the States, but it does also discuss things like Japanese internment camps, Native American sports mascots, and more. I would highly recommend checking it out if you’re in St. Louis sometime before April 4. Or, if you plan on being in any of these locations in the near(-ish) future, you might get another opportunity.
  • Made tamarind sauce last week. Next time I’ll probably use a little more tamarind concentrate and slightly less dates. P.S. Jaggery is hard as hell to break apart, even when you buy it already in chunks instead of one huge bucket-shaped block.
  • Speaking of tamarind sauce, Suraj and I also made papads (well, we cooked them–they were already made) which is probably one of the most fun things in the world to cook besides being somewhat of a science.
  • Made seitan, but it didn’t turn out very well. Probably trying again soon, much to  my dad’s gastronomic chagrin. I did stumble upon a baked-rather-than-boiled recipe, however…I think the issue is just developing a blend of spices in it that I like.

This is a novel (since I am trying to remember everything I’ve done over the course of a month that I maybe wanted to talk about), so I am going to cut myself off. Expect a photo post in the near future or a photo-update to this post with relevant pictures of things that happened.

About Chelsea
I'm currently pursuing my MFA in Writing at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. My ideal career path involves using writing, publication, and writing education to enact progressive social change.

3 Responses to Jingle jangle

  1. I’m jealous that you went to the R&G concert last night! I’m sure it was amazing.

    I’m no longer a vegetarian, but I LOVE match meat. My first experience tasting it was at Schafly’s Tap Room downtown. I had a match burger, and it was quite fantastic! 🙂

    • Chelsea says:

      I have yet to go to Schlafly’s, and I would really like to. I keep hearing great things about the food, and they do a lot to serve fresh, high-quality, and local stuff, which is something I can appreciate.

      Like I said, I was really pleased with the “chicken” Match Meat–it has a great texture and a nice flavor of its own, something I’ve had a difficult time creating in my first few tries at making seitan.

      And (sorry to rub it in!) the RyG show was stellar. If it’s any consolation, they seemed very surprised and excited by the crowd and vowed to come back the next time they undertake a North American tour.

  2. Pingback: Concert Party « What the Fidd

Leave a Reply

